Polaris ACE Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
552 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I bought my blinker kit from Side-by-side stuff. It was overpriced as expected at about $210. Received the kit and it was evident that someone is piecing this kit together in their garage. Plenty of wire though, and seemed to be decent quality wire. Wire connectors are the crimp type but not water proof. The blinker switch attaches poorly to the steering wheel. I'm pretty sure it will stay put as long as I don't hit any bumps. If I hit some bumps I'll have to fabricate my own bracket that will tighten better. Good thing I only ride the ACE on a smooth race track. I might even have to mount the thing somewhere where I can drill into it. The switch is heavy and seems very well built otherwise. I'm a rookie at wiring and the wiring diagram was very easy to follow but it seems they left off the detail about about the final connection to the blinker. The black wire must go to ground (I think, I'm already forgetting). If it is reversed, the blinker will not operate (this detail caused significant mental pain). I mounted the flasher fuse under my dash behind the gauge. Seemed like a good spot. I did drill a small hole in the "firewall" with my right angle drill and used a black rubber sleeve (forgot the proper name) to protect the wire. The LED lights seem to be plenty bright enough and the indicator on the switch is nice. If your blinker is wired incorrectly the indicator will NOT light up (That happened to me several times throughout a 3 hour period). I like the small 3/4" blinkers, I noticed them at the local AutoZone for $9 each (a couple days after buying this kit). I'm not sure if they are as good or not because I figured I had spent enough on this project to try them. I added the blinkers at the end of the bumper and love they way they turned out. It was also nice not drilling into any plastic. Overall I'm excited that they all work and because of the struggle, I am extra