Polaris ACE Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to atv's and there belt drive systems. I'm not new to trail riding mostly bikes and jeeps. Whats the best way to approach a long steep hill? I've been taking a big run and letting the momentum do most of work, but is that abusive to the clutch belt? This morning I took some hills I usually take in high with a good run up and decided to try them in low range. Got some some wheel spin at the summit but no digging drama. When running in a wash I cruse at around 20mph in 4wd, the motor seems a little bogged, in low range I can go about 18mph with the engine in it's sweet spot. Is any of this bad for the clutch? I guess what I'm asking is how to tell if I'm abusing the clutch?
Thanks.

·
Registered
3,051 Posts
This is an oft-argued subject. The manual has guidelines, but they are just that - guidelines - because there are so many variables.
Let me offer this generalization. It's what I've been doing for 8 years and I have never burned a belt.

The generalization is: Go with what FEELS right.
I know, not very specific. So let me add some stuff.

Don't do jackrabbit starts when the machine is cold (drag racing).
Always stop and drain the CVT (red valve on left side in wheel well) if you've just been through really deep water.

If you are going to climb a long, steep hill and you know it will bog down, go for low gear first.
If you don't know how long or how steep, go for low gear first.
If you're going into deep thick gooey mud, go for low gear first.

If you've done the hill and you know momentum will take most of it, plus a few seconds of struggling at the top, high gear is fine.
If you're just cruising along, and you're at 10-15 mph, but it's level ground and the machine's not really working hard, high gear is fine.
If you're going up a long gentle slope, but the RPMs are up pretty good and staying there, high gear is fine.