Polaris ACE Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a dilemma, or at the very least a very disheartening concern: I rode with a group yesterday for about 8 hours, over dirt paths, rocky terrain, river beds, and dirt and gravel roads. I have noticed that the ACE kicks up ALOT of rocks. The constant harmony of rocks hitting the fender wells is music to my ears..I love it. However...I got the Ace pulled up onto the trailer and was looking it over and both of the rear axle housing (metal cylinder tubes) closest to the engine have numerous deep grooves in them as if a rock got stuck between it and the flat piece that sits in front of it. Im not a mechanic and not sure if that's what its called, but Im sure you more savvy posters know exactly what Im talking about. Im wondering if this happens with all Ace's and other ATV/UTV's...I would think there would be something over them to keep rocks from getting caught and tearing them up. While I do realize they are metal, I am positive this is a bad thing! Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
3,051 Posts
It's the fat part of the CV axle. I don't know exactly what to call that part either.

You are right to be concerned about that. Mine has grooves too.
In fact, mine still has a rock stuck in it. It does appear to be a design flaw.
I don't know if there is anything we can do about it except inspect it regularly though.

I am more concerned about the CV boots though.
When checking out my axles, I noticed one of my boots is torn. That's going to be expensive. I doubt they'll cover it under warranty.

I also had rocks elsewhere as well. One was in the A-arm. If it were a bigger rock, one good bump in the trail would have killed the grease zerk.

View attachment 987
View attachment 988
View attachment 989
View attachment 990

·
Registered
3,051 Posts
BTW, I've never had this happen on any of my ATVs or the RZR.