Polaris ACE Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New Ace owner, few weekends out testing in So Cal, Johnson Valley/Lucerne/Ocotillo/Salton Sea areas are my favorites. Long time 2 wheeler. Me and the missus (also a bike nut) love the Ace. Just joined the forum but first impression is that it is going to be a great resource. Looking forward to getting to know the members.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Welcome Mad Max. The forum is very interesting to read. Lots of good info and pics (my favorite)

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Ran a couple of weekends, had a blast with the Ace. First question for the forum. I know it will feel better as experience and confidence in the machine kicks in, but is there any mileage in adjusting the the track width of the front and/or both axles to get more stability? I see 1", 1.5", 2" spacers are on the market. I'm a design engineer by trade so always looking for improvements but also understand that this may have already been "engineered out". Deep sand, trail driving, and hill climbing is my norm.

·
Registered
3,051 Posts
There are some folks who turned their wheels inside out, and others who have installed spacers, and they love it.
If you don't have to worry about any 50" trails, then yes, spacers are a good option for lateral stability.

·
Registered
447 Posts
I have two inch spacers and 27 inch tires. My rear wheels are now at 58 inches wide. It is a lot more stable. It does limit where I can go. However, since I ride mostly on my own trails it is not a problem for me.

·
Registered
3,051 Posts
Hayseed, do you feel much power loss from the 27" tires?

I have my 50" setup for tight trails, but I am considering putting some taller tires on a spare set of wheels for situations where I want more ground clearance and don't have to worry about trail width.
I want to know how much power loss I might experience from putting taller tires on.